The windmill has an octagonal brick base of two storeys, above which is a
conical tower housing the post, and finally the cap-mounted sails.
Built in 1817. It is a hollow-post mill, which means that the main post that
supports the weight of the structure is hollowed out, and that the rotating
shaft which couples the blades to the machinery passes through the inside of
It is no longer a working mill, but the mill machinery is still largely intact.
The mill stopped working in 1864, due to a land-dispute. It was then converted
into apartments for 6 households. One of the smaller apartments is preserved
within the current museum. It is where Robert Baden-Powell wrote parts of
Scouting for Boys, which was published in 1908.
The windmill is now a museum, detailing its own history, as well as the
history of windmills in general. The museum is open from April to October. It
features interactive exhibits, such as push-button models and grain-grinding
activities, in addition to visitors being able to explore the layout and use of
the actual mill.
Click image to see larger copy